NOAFW-2015, day 2 — Rape, Clothing, and Feminism.

(It’s still Monday for me — deal with it, WP…)

I somehow doubt how any length of article, discussing this sort of thing, will ever suffice for many who were offended by my original take on this subject – yet, I feel that I should, if only for my own sake, at least take the time to draft a full article concerning rape, clothing, and feminism.

Those who saw my guest-post on Opinionated Man’s blog about Feminism (which unfortunately has since been deleted) may remember my comment about the likelihood of rape and the actions she takes leading up to that event – including her garment.

In order to fully understand my position on this, we must first take a look at the common Feminist take on this issue – as it relates to other potentially harmful situations:

>I don’t understand why people would tell me to install locks on my doors and windows.  That’s disgusting!  They’re basically telling me that I’m to blame if a thug barges into my house and steals things from it – it’s obviously the thug’s fault for being too incapable of realizing that stealing and theft is wrong and thus robbing me, not mine for not trying to prevent it from happening!  How DARE you say that I should take precautions against getting burgled – YOU should be teaching potential burglars not to burgle!

>I don’t understand why people would tell me to wear safety gear when in a construction zone, or the like.  That’s disgusting!  They’re basically telling me that I’m to blame if something falls on my head, or I otherwise come to harm – it’s obviously the fault of the other builders for being too incompetent in their work to prevent all the possible hazards from possibly striking me, not mine for not trying to prevent it from happening!  How DARE you say that I should take precautions against getting hurt – YOU should be teaching the workers not to allow me to come to harm!

>I don’t understand why people would tell me to take precautions against wild predators when in a forest.  That’s disgusting!  They’re basically telling me that I’m to blame if a bear or wildcat tries to attack me – it’s obviously the fault of those predators for causing me such harm and not instead respecting my presence in their midst as I am them, not mine for not trying to prevent it from happening!  How DARE you say that I should take precautions against getting hurt – YOU should be teaching the predators not to jump out at me or otherwise threaten to harm me!

>I don’t understand why people would tell me to defend myself against bullies and trolls.  That’s disgusting!  They’re basically telling me that I’m to blame if a bully or troll harasses me or hurts me – it’s obviously the fault of the bully or troll being too stupid to realize that s/he should just leave people alone, not mine for not trying to prevent it from happening!  How DARE you say that I should take precautions against bullies and bullying – YOU should be teaching the bullies and trolls not to bully and/or troll!

Why DO you take precautions for the sake of your home, car, children, savings, and health, against all the potential harms that could come to those things?  Surely you realize that it’s ‘common sense’; that, since you cannot control the thugs and wrongdoers, you instead protect against them by safe-guarding those valuables as best you can?

NOW:

>I don’t understand why people would tell me to take sensible steps against potential rapists.  That’s disgusting!  They’re basically telling me that I’m to blame if a man jumps on me and rapes me – it’s obviously the fault of the rapist for failing to realize that he shouldn’t be raping me, not mine for not trying to prevent it from happening!  How DARE you say that I should take precautions against getting raped – YOU should be teaching potential rapists not to rape!

*Cue the cognitive dissonance…*

So, how is it that you were correctly able to deduce the idiocy of the first four scenarios, yet – especially if you’re an ardent Feminist – you insist that the fifth, above, is as sensible and productive as investing in locks for your home or emergency phones for your small children?

Notice that the wording between the five scenarios HAS NOT CHANGED IN THE SLIGHTEST.  How, then, can the first four be considered idiocy, while the fifth be seen as sensible?

Notice also that one of the scenarios explicitly involves clothing, in one way or another:

It’s a no-brainer for most that one should wear certain safety gear when walking in a construction site, or any other potentially hazardous workplace.

Most consider wearing a hard-hat in such areas as being the baseline in ‘sensible’ wear.  Protective gloves, vests, and/or boots, depending on the work, is also largely accepted as ‘sensible’ for the more dangerous tasks.

How come, then, I can get chided for saying that ‘sensible’ garments for women – if they so choose – would help them in fending off potential rapists?

Perhaps wear something with pockets, so that a potential rapist cannot assume you’re unarmed!

Perhaps carry a large purse along, so that a potential rapist cannot assume you’re unarmed!

Perhaps wear clothing that will offer you the best mobility, so that a potential rapist cannot assume you’re completely helpless!

Between women and construction workers, saying one of the two should wear ‘sensible’ clothing is deemed as ‘common-sense’, while saying the exact same thing of the other will see the speaker being the butt of attacks and chiding and even demonization.  THAT MAKES ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE TO ME.

I even said in that other post that wearing ‘sensible’ clothing WASN’T THE ONLY OPTION AVAILABLE TO WOMEN!  Another great precaution I noted was to take self-defense classes, SO THAT, SHOULD A THUG BE STUPID ENOUGH TO TRY TO ATTACK YOU, YOU CAN BEAT HIS ASS DOWN BEFORE HE CAN LAY A FINGER ON YOU.

I honestly don’t understand how that cannot be the most empowering thing possible for women.  Perhaps a feminist could be kind enough to enlighten me on it…

Categories: NOAFW | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “NOAFW-2015, day 2 — Rape, Clothing, and Feminism.

  1. LOL! You really opened a can of worms, didn’t you?

    Here’s what I know. Clothing is completely irrelevant to a genuine rapist. Actual rape is a crime of power, not sex. Men are raped by other men and in some quarters, the sheep run scared, too. Sadly, the most common victims of rape are actually the elderly and disabled in institutions, and children, not cute young college girls. That’s the real story of rape.

    The other issue we have is not really about rape, but rather sexual power plays and boundaries. That is what is so dangerous for young men right now, because girls are totally confused about their own sexuality. Girls have been fed all these messages about consent and shame and attraction and how every man is potential rapist. You hear this in the feminist message about not wanting to lock their doors or dress differently. That is because of attraction, women are compelled to seek out men, we desire them too, but that is a very bad thing. We are shamed for seeking male attention, for desiring approval or dressing attractively. Think about the mind games going on there, all men are allegedly potential rapists…. and yet we desire them. It messes with your head. Can one consent to their own rape? Worse yet, how could anyone actually want to sleep with a potential rapist?

    I really feel bad for men right now. There are a whole lot of confused girls out there,confused about the nature of their own desires, confused about attraction, and confused about consent. Believe it or not, women don’t really desire “empowerment,” when it comes to men. They desire surrender.

    Rape require resistance while desire requires surrender. Women are being lead by feminism to try and walk in these two realities at the same time and that is nearly impossible, extremely confusing, and leads to all these mixed messages.

    • I knew that was going to happen…
      And yes, I know all about the fact that clothing is not a factor of consideration for most true rapists. I hope that you can see that when reading this post.
      All I’m saying is that, like wearing certain clothes as a policeman, for example, to help them protect themselves from criminals (of course, criminals, like rapists, aren’t diverted because a policeman wears his uniform), those who fear being raped can wear something with pockets, carry a purse, or even take self-defense in order to hopefully prevent a potential attack.
      Of course I agree with your words on how feminists have made girls (as well as guys) confused about sex and sexuality, and I think, given what I’ve researched on the ideology, that that’s on purpose, and likely even to keep as many of us as possible from coming together and mating.
      Anyway… Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

100WordAnime

Reviewing anime in 100 words (approximately)

Logical Quotes

Humbly roaming the universe, usually alone.

YAHARI BENTO!!

In Depth Anime/Manga/LN analysis & some reviews in one blog/box. Which one would you like to eat in Yahari Bento?

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

VOICE OF GOD

a sci-fi mystery

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Documentary Short Film Festival

Submit your short DOC and get it showcased at the FEEDBACK Film Festival

